Summary

Web Analytics Tutorial

 

Lesson 5 – Revenue Modeling

IN THIS LESSON
* Introduction
** Values
* Values and Revenue
** Event Based Revenue
** Advertising Potential and Visitor Values
* Values and Costs
** Usage Costs
** External Service Costs
* Lost Revenue
** Exit Page Analysis
** Capitalizing on Qualified Leads

Values and Revenue

When configuring Summary, you can decide whether you want Values to reflect estimated costs or potential income. If you assign values for potential income, then you can make rapid revenue estimates from Summary’s reports by reading the Values column.

Event-based Revenue

Figure 2. Groups and Value Configuration
Figure 2. By assigning value to Groups or request
patterns you can estimate revenue from
particular events in your analysis.
Most often there are specific requests on your site that you know generate revenue. This could be an advertising impression, a click on a link to purchase an item, or a checkout page. Summary allows you to assign values to these events by settings them up as a Group in the configuration (see the Configuration section of the Summary Manual for details). Each group is a collection of request patterns. For each group, you can assign a value. So, as in Group one in Figure 2, all your advertisements can be given a value of 0.02 ($20 CPM). Specific order pages can be given the value of the item the customer is ordering.

MORE ON
Advertising

Figure 3. Search Words by Value
Figure 3. The Search Words by Value Report
can give you an estimate of the financial
value of particular search words.
Sometimes the value is less well defined. You may not be able to set up groups for every item in your online catalog, but you might know what your average sale is. You can then assign your checkout page to have a value of your average sale, as in Group two in Figure 2, and get an estimate of what your total sales are for a given period or other quantity. While this is not the same as an exact value (from your sales database) it can be useful in determining the value of particular referrers or search words (especially when combined with other value.)

Advertising Potential and Visitor Values

Summary also allows you to configure a value for every page hit. If your site hosts advertising, then every single page may be a spot you could place an ad. By giving Summary the cost per impression you are charging (e.g. 0.05 would be $50 CPM) as the value of a page view, you can use the Value column to see what your potential revenue is from advertising.

If you know that every visitor to your site is a potential buyer, and that every page hit makes a visitor more likely to purchase, you may be able to determine as estimated value of a page view in terms of real income using this simple formula:

Avg. Sale * Conversion Rate / Pages per Visit = Page View Value

For example, perhaps your site merely promotes your restaurant. But you have determined that 4% of your visitors actually make it to your restaurant (Conversion Rate). Assuming your site averages 3 page views per visit and the average sale at your restaurant is $48, you can estimate the value of your page views:

$48 * .04 / 3 = $0.64.
MORE ON
Value of Referrers
Value of Search Words


Table of Contents | 1: What is Web Analytics? | 2: Where are My Visitors Coming From? | 3: Search Engines | 4: Advertising | 5: Revenue Modeling | 6: Design Considerations | 7: Determining Visitor Behavior Patterns | 8: Examining Subsets of Traffic  | 9: Incorporating Business Goals | 10: Bandwidth Management | 11: Site and Server Diagnostics | 12: Investigating Troublemakers | Appendix A: Making Reports More Usable | Appendix B: Technical Details of Metric Accuracy

Copyright 2002 by Summary.Net - Updated 16.Apr.2002